So we got up
pretty early today (6:30am) and got right to work. It seems that this previous owner has a dog,
bunny, and a couple of ferrets.
Apparently the ferrets lived in an open cage on the KITCHEN
COUNTER. She also said that she would be
back for her couch and recliner on Monday (tomorrow) because she ran out of
room in her box filled apartment. Since
we will not be home tomorrow I told her we would put them on the porch.
Joey
immediately got to work on the porch.
There was literally a mountain of poop and also a small pile of hay
along with tools, toys, wire bathroom things, a couple of old recliners, a 300
year old dishwasher, and most likely everything else in the free world on said
porch. There was even a rug under it all
so some of the rug got torn up today and the wood was scrubbed with bleach
water. He got about half of it done when
he had to stop because the park’s dumpster got pretty full. The rest will get done as soon as the
dumpster empties.
*there is actually one more picture but I couldn't get it to load*
I, on the
other hand, require a sanitary kitchen (I know I’m a freak, right?). Every counter was full of ferret poop,
cabinet doors coming off the hinges (some of the doors missing), the freezer
works but the fridge is broken with mold and dead flies caked inside (not to
worry, my dad has an extra one in his garage he is letting me have), and the
portable dishwasher is broken and caked with mold. The floors have rabbit and ferret poop all
over, oh and the cabinets still had some of her dishes in them with dead flies
and dead spiders all over. All along the
celling corners was covered with daddy long leg spiders along with their webs
same with underside of the breakfast bar.
Food 2 or 3 years expired.
I bleached
every inch of that kitchen, literally floor to walls to ceiling. I can still smell a faint whiff of poop so I
think either the bunny must have gotten under the broken cabinet or the smell
is permanently embedded in the wood.
Either way, the kitchen is the very first thing that is getting gutted so
I will try not to stress to bad about it.
When Joey
stopped doing the porch he helped me start the living room and got the TV set
up while I set up my desk top computer.
Dish Network won’t be called for at least another week or two so just
the DVD player and HDMI got set up.
I have plans
going on in my head for when we gut the kitchen… what do you think?
I currently
hate the layout and can’t wait to change it.
Taking out the bar will make it look so much bigger.
Oh and, my
dad and I were talking on the phone today about whether or not to reinforce
this wall or that, this floor or that he said “don’t throw away those tools she
left on the porch, I’ll need them when I come up to fix everything.” I told him not to worry about fixing my place
and to worry about the projects at his own house but he wouldn’t take no for an
answer. “I wanna get under it and check
the floor and I wanna get in the roof crawl space and check for rodents and we
need to get those windows fixed before the winter.” I was in shock and really didn’t expect him
to say such things. It is really
exciting that we will have daddy/daughter time together. Anyways, I digress.
After doing
all this cleaning it makes me wonder how someone can live in such squalor. It looks like no one has lived here in years
but she has for about 2 with her ex-husband.
She is currently about a month pregnant and I grow concerned for her and
her baby’s health. Let’s just hope she
gets better with her cleaning.
We did so
much today and we are both exhausted!! Can’t wait for the days to come: demolition,
construction, cookouts with family, and just having a good time.
Oh yeah… and
after doing so much bleach cleaning today most of the flies and spiders are
gone!!