Sunday, September 9, 2012

Day 14 -- Lesson learned from Daddy: "Wear a mask or you will loose a lung"


After an early start at work, I went to my parent’s house to borrow Ralph’s circular saw and take a roll of fiberglass and I ended up also borrowing a saw table and some paper masks.  I will need to go back tomorrow to borrow my dad’s drill so I can start to put the new sheetrock and fiberglass up. 

We gutted out the master bedroom and most of the hallway today took out all of the moldy fiberglass.  The master bedroom used to have two doors because before we moved in, it was a three bedroom and they took out a wall to make a fabulous master bedroom.  I say use to because I added a stud to one of the doorways so we can put sheetrock over it.  I can’t wait for my beautiful new bedroom to be done!!  I plan to put in a great closet that has an arm on one side and rolls out on the other so I can have double the closet using less space.  Upon walking to the dumpster, we stopped and got some great ideas from the land owner to make the house airtight.  He said that there is this thick foam sheet at Home Depot and if we get that expandable foam stuff and use the expandable foam to stick the foam sheet to the plastic that is on the inside of the metal siding no water will ever get in again.

Tomorrow’s plan isn’t a big one because I won’t be home until 5-ish.  I am going to get a scrub brush from the dollar store and do bleach water on all the exposed wood and paint it with Kilz on either Tuesday after school or Wednesday after work.

The following picture is a before picture of a wall in my office.  I actually forgot (once again) to take a before picture of the hallway walls (there was one wall in the bedroom with a wall).  The picture here is actually one of the better walls.  There was one spot that my dad wanted to know if a bear got in a scratched away… lol. 
*No, I didn't do the spray paint on the wall*
These pictures are the end of today’s work.  The flat wall with the metal is the hallway and the other side is my bedroom.  The beams are going to have sheet rock up after I paint with Kilz.


Well, my lungs are full of sheetrock dust (hate it when my dad is right), I’m sore and exhausted.  Going to have some Hostess cupcakes and moo juice and drift off to dreamland…. Goodnight to my amazing friends and family.  Knowing that you are all living this experience with me keeps me going, with your emotional support; I know we can get this done. 

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Day 13 -- Have you ever seen the movie Arachnophobia?


Well, today started at about 7:30 in the bright and cheerful morning.  Joey went to work at Kirby for a few hours and I went to work on the porch.  Since the previous owner still hasn’t picked up her couch and the shed is still full of her stuff we shoved the couch and living room chair into the shed.  I emptied out the porch, we tore out the rug, and I vacuumed up the hundreds to thousands of spiders and spider eggs what's strange is have a huge fear of spiders.  My parents and Uncle Jack showed up around 1pm-ish and we loaded up my dad’s trailer and went to the dump.  We then loaded up another trailer full and unloaded it into the dumpster in the trailer park.  After all of that, Joey and I (kind of) painted the inside of the porch with that white Kilz primer.  We didn’t do a super great job because we are going to fill it up with the boxes that are currently in our master bedroom; we are also going to be tearing the porch down and building a new one next spring anyways.  I only wanted to paint it so I know if any rodents or spiders getting back inside. Oh, and I found a really sweet massively huge desk on the porch I can’t wait to fix up and put in my office. 

*Note: The office is our current bedroom and will be the next room to be fixed up after the actual bedroom.* 

Plans for tomorrow include moving the boxes from the master bedroom onto the porch and prepping the room for construction.  Hoping it won’t be too bad because the walls are already down.  They just need to be reinforced, we are also going to reinforcing the floor and replace the ceiling too, thanks to Ralphie because he is letting me use his circular saw, something of which I need in order to cut the wood for said walls and ceiling.  I’m planning on building a sweet closet.  I found this thing on Pintrest where if the closet shares a wall with the laundry room (which mines does) you can put a door into the back wall of the closet so when you are doing laundry, you can just put them right into the closet.  It also includes a side out dirty laundry hamper… love that website!!

Things are starting to really move along and rooms are being to looking like beautiful rooms instead of the disgusting heap they are now.  I have some ideas floating in my head for the bedroom but nothing solid because I haven’t been able to measure the room out yet.
 
Going to have dinner then bed for early morning work.  Goodnight all!!

*This is the before picture (the crate and what use to be in front is all dog poop), for some reason it won't let me upload the after picture from my phone, I will try again with tomorrows blog but use my camrea (I know what your thinking, but both of my cameras are dead and will be charging tonight*

Monday, September 3, 2012

Day 8 -- We get a certified pre-owned fridge


Well, I had the day off but I didn’t do much because I was still sore from Thursday.  I should have been unpacking some boxes or finishing the yard but I decided that doing nothing sounded like more fun.

My parents came over in the evening to bring my dad’s garage fridge up because my fridge is broken and am currently using my tiny portable.  He and Joey spend a few hours trying to fix mine but with no luck.  Actually it was so cute because my dad was trying to teach Joey how to fix it, they looked so deep in thought that I swear I saw smoke at one point… ha ha!!  So around 10pm they brought in my dad’s.

 Meanwhile my mom and I grilled hamburgers, hot dogs and corn.  The guys took a food break.  My mom and I then watched TV… we were big helps.

 I have no pictures of this because I didn’t think of it until now although video probably would have been better.

Day 6 -- The really hot roofers in cowboy hats offer me the use of their truck

First of all, I would like to apologize for being so neglectful… I have no excuse.

Secondly, let’s talk about Thursday.
I started off the day like every other this week with cleaning up the lawn.  We had filled up the wheelbarrow the night before so before Joey went to his new job we emptied it.  Then I proceeded to fill up four more loads and haul them to the dumpster which is (without a wheelbarrow) about a minute walk.  Yeah well, my wheelbarrow has a flat tire and I do not have a pump for it (hint hint Santa).  Have you ever pulled what felt like a ton of lead down the street?  I have and it sucks!! My neighbor next to me comes by to tell me about this program the USDA has to loan money out for low income families to fix up their homes and as he was walking away I asked him if he has a pump – that god he did.  I did one more load until it happened.  Said neighbor was getting a new roof, one of the roofers yelled down at me and said “I can’t watch this for one more second; please let me back my pick up in your yard, fill it up, and we can drive it over and empty it.  OH LORDY LORDY ME THERE IS A GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Within a half hour I filled it up and made a massive dent in the remainder of the yard.  The great thing is, they didn’t want any money.  They liked some of the stuff I was throwing away and I told them to consider that payment, they happily agreed.  Now all that is left is the back and one side of the shed… oh yeah and the furniture and tires (I think they are 16s and are slightly used if anyone is interested) I found by the shed.  My parents came by and picked up some lawn chairs and a slide to deliver to my Nana’s house but the rest remains.  Going to drop them off at the dump next time my dad comes by

I was sore and beyond exhausted by 1pm so I stopped and became a vegetable for the rest of the day. 
I was such a long day but I got so much done (thanks to the amazing roofers across the way).
 
*I really thought that I got pictures of the outside of the shed but I guess I didn't... sorry*