Thursday, May 16, 2013

Holy wind gusts Batman!!!


Today we were working in the yard.  I want it to be perfect for the up and coming party!!  The wind gusts are insane!!!  They have to be a good 10 or 20 miles per hour making cleaning the yard quite difficult.   

We finished up the raking and cut the wood that was next to the shed for burning at the party.  As of right now, the back yard is pretty much done and then after dinner, I plan to do the front. 

Plans for this weekend include paining the house to a dark beige color with brown trim.  So excited to get rid of that awful asparagus pee yellow siding!!

I want to plant a ton of flowers in the front yard and put up a short retaining wall, white picket fence (that would follow to the side yard all along the edge where the creak is), and a trellis with a climbing vine growing on it for between the two satellite dishes.  As for the back yard, I would like to put a short, white leaf fence on the property line and line it with different colored roses.  After tearing down and rebuilding the porch into a deck, I want to put the vegetable garden on the right side (under the kitchen).  As you can tell, I have big plans for the yard and can’t wait to put them into play.

That is pretty much all I have (well, the besides the normal house cleaning stuff).  I did take four before and after pictures of the yard for you to enjoy. 

Lady was helping by digging up the dirt
Next to the shed before (just now realized I
forgot to take an after photo)

  Doesn't the yard look great?!?!




Sunday, May 12, 2013

Time for a new paint color... and some grass. I need grass!!


So I know that I have severely neglected you (my people <3) and I apologize for it.  So I know I have some great pictures on my phone to share with all of you but I don’t remember what they are so I will just share with you what we have been up to in beautiful Hillsborough and whatever picture I have will come.

So, the walls in the kitchen and living room weren't too bad so we painted it a really nice dark grey and the trim is white.  It’s going to look amazing with my dark floors too (that will come much later, though).  With the accent of the old fashion black and white pictures and my swords (to be added when I find them) the living room looks amazing!!  All I am going to say about the kitchen is that we painted it the same color.  We have not gotten to much more than that.  I have some great ideas floating around in my head but you will just have to wait… he he he.  I will say this; in the end, the inside will have a cozy cottage feel. 

So over the past few days, we are trying to get the back yard cleaned up and ready for summer.  The previous owner left A LOT of trash everywhere in the yard and almost year later, we are still cleaning it up.  I don’t think she EVER used the dumpster!!  I raked the back yard and bagged it up.  Then I moved the snow blower and lawn mower to the other side of the shed where it is out of sight.  Eventually they will be going into the shed but not until after I find a way into the crawl space (hint, hint Ralph) to put all the storage stuff away that is currently occupying the shed.  And finally, I laid down a bag of grass seed onto most of the back lawn, got to get another bag for the rest of the back yard and the front yard (agh, our first yard!!!  Can’t wait to walk barefoot in the grass!!). 

Lastly… okay, so don’t make fun but I read Pintrest that this woman used Rustoleum spray paint from her local Kmart to paint the metal siding of her mobile home.  Sooooo…. there may be a very large chance that I may have bought one can and sprayed the side of the house just to see what happens  (I just happened to of wandered into a Kmart today).  Came out really good!! I think it will look better with a second coat.  I only wish that I read this sooner, I’d be done by now.  Welp that is it for now; some of the up and coming projects include:  new covered deck, new kitchen, and a picket fence in the front yard, and lots of plants.

For now, enjoy these pictures.

How does it look?  I freaking LOVE the colors together.

This is the only dog in the world that hates bring outside

This is what I used to paint the house

Th color on the left is the new color, the right is the old.  This picture actually
 isn't that great because the new color is much more beige-ish and the old color is
much more pee after eating asparagus.

Found a couple of nests, that is just
what I was afraid of.  Time for some
animal evictions!!

OMG LADY IS LYING IN THE GRASS!!!!!!!!!!!
This pretty much never happens, ladies and gentle dudes... mark
your calendars.

Get growing grass!!!

Can't wait any longer it's been like 2 hours!!!



                      

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Pipes don't freeze in the summer, someone turn up the sun!!


So… let’s talk about Monday and Tuesday. Oh god how I am so happy that it is Wednesday!!!

Okay, Joey and I woke got up around 6am and I began to get ready for work (Joey had the day off) only to notice that there is no water.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!  So Joey went to work on unfreezing the pipe with a heat gun (that broke), a hair dryer, and my heating pad.  It was late so I decided the shower wasn't happening so I got dressed and went to work.  Throughout the day I called Joey to check on the pipe, still frozen.  Joey even called the land owner and the town just to check that they didn't turn it off… nope. 

After work I stopped at my parents to get some supplies to help with said pipe:
  • *   Reflective wall board
  • *   Some kind of reflective plumbing tape
  • *   Small space heater
  • *   Heat gun

The plan is to make a small box with the wall board around the pipe using the plumbing tape, blasting it with the heat gun every now and then. Nothing.

GGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So I spent a lot of the night trying to figure things out with my older brother, Ralph.  We decided that it’s got to be the other eight or so feet of PVC tubing that is connected to the metal pipe (leads into the house) that is frozen.  As I was talking on the phone with Ralph my dad called and said that he’d be over in the morning.  Ralph and I decided to shut off the main pipe (so it doesn't burst) and “call it a night.”
Mom and Dad showed up about 12:30ish and dad got to work.  He brought this high powered 30,000 watt heater after a few hours, nothing.  I am starting to think that I will have no water until March (note to self: stock up on body spray).  So dad took one of the tires off (which scared the crap out of me) so he could shimmy behind it.  Apparently Ralph was right; the pipe was frozen the entire length.  About 4 or 5pm we saw it, the outside faucet started dripping.  About 45 minutes later there was water (do you hear that?  The angels are singing.)  The pipe is now dripping (not totally bursted thank god) but dad said not to freight, he will fix it.

He then replaced the covering for the switch in the bedroom so that I can cover that last 2 or so feet with sheet rock.  We have moved into the new room with only little things left to do. 

I had to add this picture because it was the first time
Lady would play with a ball...  it was so cute!!
What’s next you ask?  The kitchen.  Gonna get new appliances from Sears (oh think of the points!!)

Well kids, that’s all for now!

P.S.: After 2 days of no water, that had to be the best shower in the world!!!

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The Bedroom is Almost Done, Promise!

So construction of the bedroom continues.  We have been working diligently to make everything prefect and the payoff is finally on its way.





Recently, we have finished the plastering and sanding and about a week ago we finished painting the walls.  The color we chose is Ridge View from the Behr line.































We have also started putting down the bamboo floor, the color is Cafe; its a very dark brown.





Well, since I caved a few weeks back and told you everything else already, that is all I have for you today so here is a cat!